History of Tagkawayan Water District

The Tagkawayan Water District was formed on the 6th day of June, 1980 through Presidential Decree No. 198 by former President Ferdinand E. Marcos better known as the “Local Water Utilities Act of 1973” as amended by P.D. Nos. 768 and 1479. The Official turn-over of ownership, management & operation was on the 31st day of July 1980 through the Tagkawayan Sangguniang Bayan using the defunct NAWASA operated by the Philippine National Railways.

TWD received her CCC No. 130 on September 12, 1980 from the Local Water Utilities Administration (LWUA) that enabled her to operate under standard specifications.

Sakang River is the present surface water source of TWD. The point of origin of this river is approximately 3 kms. North of the Poblacion. It flows in a southeast direction where it joins other creeks in the east and finally empties into the Tagkawayan River with a discharge of 25l/s. Due to increasing demands TWD constructed in 1998, 2 deepwells one at Bamban with 20l/s discharge and at Payapa with 18l/s discharge.

TWD was recategorized as Medium WD last Aug. 2005, but in April 2012 was again recategorized as Category D during Pres. Benigno Aquino’s Administration.

TWD serves 12 barangays out of 45, it cannot serve the others since they are located on the area not accessible to TWDs transmission/distribution lines, some are on the mountain zone, others on the highway zone, while others are along the railroad zone.

12 Barangays Served by TWD:

  1. Poblacion

  2. Sta. Cecilia

  3. Aldavoc

  4. Magsaysay

  5. Rizal

  6. Payapa

  7. San Vicente

  8. Munting Parang

  9. Landing

 10. Bamban

 11. Mapulot Labak

 12. Mansilay